Carrie Duncan Photography's day-to-day blog

Celebrating our achievements, big and small

This week is World Breastfeeding Week, and just the fact that I am sitting here blogging about that, is worth celebrating.

That people all around the world are, this week, talking about breastfeeding, that they are hosting events that shine the spotlight on the first and most important food your child will ever have, well that is pretty awesome.

I started out breastfeeding my son, hoping to reach the 6-month mark. I had no idea what I was getting into, but read all I could about it and even took a class to make sure that things went smoothly. Thirteen months later, we’re still going strong. There are days when I would prefer my son didn’t need to feed so often, and there are certainly days where I wish he would give up that 5 a.m. feeding. Still, as I watch him grow and thrive, it’s hard not to burst with pride that I had a very personal hand in making that happen.

Any amount of breastfeeding, whether you do it for two days or two years, is amazing. I hope all you mamas celebrate the great gift you have given your children.

Like everything else in childhood, our nurslings only stay in this stage so long. Remember that special time forever with a Skin2Skin portrait.

I’m celebrating by giving away a limited number of mini-sessions this week. Send me an email if you’re interested!

Leave a Reply

