Carrie Duncan Photography's day-to-day blog

Snappy mamas!

Being a mom, for many women, myself included, usually means reaching out to other moms who will share the journey with us, moms whose kids are close in age to ours, moms who live nearby and moms who we generally get along with.

I was lucky enough to find that combination in a large number of moms through a Meetup group called Lakeshore Babies. All the moms seem down to earth, willing to share the load when it comes to playdates and primarily are focused on their little ones’ social development.

Sometimes they even take a break from being a mom and meet for a book club, which I wish I could attend but my live-in personal trainer (a.k.a. my husband) is working such long hours these days that I don’t get the chance.

Anyway, I offered to host a baby and photography workshop for the Lakeshore Babies moms because I really like them, and because photography is a passion that is best shared. I always feel I learn something when I share my knowledge with other people.

With some munchies and some homemade ice tea spread out and ready to go, the moms and I sat and chatted about photography. We went through a tip sheet on how to get the best family shots you can, and then we did some one-on-one coaching where I showed them how to use their individual cameras and learn to experiment with aperture using the aperture priority (A or AV) setting on their cameras. We talked about some photography basics like aperture and shutter speed and ISO in ways that they could move beyond the Automatic setting.

I was surprised to see how many moms had invested in DSLRs. The advent of digital photography has made it so that many, many people are walking around with DSLRs. What wasn’t surprising was that most were using the Automatic settings. I spent two semesters in college learning about photography, and even when I upgraded from an SLR to a DSLR there was a pretty steep learning curve.

At the end of the workshop, I think it’s pretty safe to say most of the moms felt a little more confident about their photo taking ability and keen to read (or re-read) the manuals of their cameras so they could put to use some of the advice they had garnered. I was so proud to see them all pleased with their new skills and holding their cameras confidently, instead of the tentative way they had held them when they arrived, unsure if they should take them out and use them.

Let’s face it, professional photography is an investment that is worthwhile and should be a part of every family’s memory album, but being able to snag those everyday snapshots right, that’s priceless.

I took these two of some of the little guys who were here. We had 7 boys and one girl.

Both these photos were taken at f/2 and a shutter speed of 1/640 s since they were in the same light.

Ben taking a break from the firetruck.

Gavin is cute and knows it!

This next one is not ideal as the eyes are not as sharp as I would like them, but it was taken while my own son was being a little terror and I hardly had time to focus. Still, I loved his expression and the colour in the shot, so I thought I’d share it anyway.

3 responses

  1. Paula

    Wish we could have been there!! Thanks so much for hosting and sharing your talent, Carrie! Love the photos.

    July 13, 2011 at 2:34 pm

  2. Sylvie

    Both of them are adorable! I love how personalities always shine through in all of your shots!

    July 13, 2011 at 3:24 pm

  3. Paula, I hope to see you at the next one! It’s really my pleasure. I feel blessed to have found such a great group of ladies and their kids to share in this journey of motherhood/toddlerhood!
    Sylvie, I really think their personalities are coming through too in the photos. Thanks for noticing 🙂

    July 13, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Leave a Reply

