Carrie Duncan Photography's day-to-day blog

Weekend recharge

Using a slow shutter speed to capture the movement of his hands. This one was shot at f/8 1/50s

Like I mentioned in a previous post, my husband works hard. Really hard. He’s often gone before I get up in the morning and he’s lucky if he’s home before our son goes to bed at night. He even goes to work on Saturdays.

When we first started dating, the time he spent at work was a source of contention in our relationship. I couldn’t understand why he couldn’t just take a break. Getting him to take vacation was near impossible and back in those days he worked on Sundays too. He was a man who gave all that he had to his work. Once you get to know my husband though, you understand why.  He loves his job. As a personal trainer, he loves nothing more than to help people reach their goals and to get them to a place where they are more fit, mobile and strong than before. Even after he comes home, he’ll often talk about the various programs that he runs his clients through and talks about the challenges and successes he’s had with them. He just can’t get enough of it.

He’s also one of the most compassionate people I know, and people see that in him and are just as grateful for it as I am.

Although it’s been a long road to where we are now, I feel like I understand my husband better than ever. I’m doing something I truly love, and now it’s my turn to spend my evenings poring over my work, and nitpicking every finite detail. After years of working a job where I put in the hours and left the office at the office, I finally get it.

Thankfully I’m married to a man who encourages and nurtures what I do. He even tries to understand it, and I sometimes hear him use words like “f-stop” or “fill-lighting”.giving me the sense that not only is he paying attention, but he’s trying to be a part of my creative world too.

And sometimes between our hectic worklives we get to go out and enjoy ourselves like we did this weekend at the Salsa on St. Clair festival. Going out together with our son is not something we do often, but it was well worth the trip.

We indulged in one of our favourite activities (Salsa dancing) and even had a bit of decadent latino goodness (churros). By the end of our trip, our son was grooving to the music but my husband says that next year we’re going to drop the little one off with Grandma so we can really kick back and have fun.

Hanging on to my skirt.

Like anything else sometimes you gotta wait for the right shot.

mmmm.... churros!

Leave a Reply

