Carrie Duncan Photography's day-to-day blog

Everything happens for a reason

Recently I’ve been running into some difficulty trying to get one of my sessions booked thanks to the weather. This was supposed to be an outdoor shoot, as was mama-to-be Paula’s preference. With the rain, and the cold days we’ve had in May, I couldn’t justify taking her and her daughter out into the nasty weather for photos.

Then, by some small miracle, this past Saturday’s forecast was sun all day. I couldn’t believe my luck! Although I had a booking in the afternoon, I decided to try to get this session done in the morning, and I’m so glad I did. You see, if I had done the session during the week, I wouldn’t have gotten her husband Chris in the photos, and I would have missed out on photos like this one.

Thankfully, Paula brought some spray-on sunscreen, because I’ve had some terrible streaky incidents with the ones you rub on (a post for another day). And she brought coffee, which puts her in the running to be my new BFF. We strolled and snapped stopping under beautiful weeping willows and down by the boardwalk on the waterfront. By some twist of fate, the boardwalk which I had chosen to take them to while I was out checking out the park earlier in the week, was right by the condo tower that Paula used to live in. Isn’t it nice when things just have a way of working themselves out?

2 responses

  1. Chrys Sly

    Wow Carrie, what a great photo. I see that your creative ability has found yet another way to express itself. Thank you for letting me know about this site.

    May 31, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Leave a Reply

